Founded in 1140 by Prince Vladislav II, Strahov Monastery (Strahovské nádvoří) is a large impressive building situated at the back of Petřín Hill and Prague Castle. This elevated area of the city offers visitors a calm oasis, somewhere to stroll around, enjoy views over the Lesser Town (and indeed the whole of Prague), and to visit one of the city's finest churches. Strahov Monastery was established for the Premonstratensians, followers of the teachings of St. Augustine. In 1258, it was destroyed by fire, then later rebuilt in the Gothic style, with further work undertaken during the Baroque period. Strahov Monastery and the area surrounding it has a serene, meditative quality. However its library is its most important feature, which comprises one of the oldest monastic collections in the country. The library is located in the theological and philosophical halls, and is over 800 years old. Despite ransacking by invading armies, it still holds 16,000 books. |